Disaster Declaration for Flooded Areas in MN

July 6, 2012
Press Release

Sens. Klobuchar, Franken, Reps. Peterson, McCollum, Kline, Cravaack Announce that, at Their Urging, White House Issues

Disaster Declaration for Minnesota Communities Devastated by Flooding

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Sens. Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken (D-Minn.) and U.S. Reps. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), John Kline (R-Minn.), and Chip Cravaack (R-Minn.) announced that President Barack Obama approved federal assistance to help Minnesota communities repair public infrastructure damaged by recent flooding. Last week, Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton requested federal assistance in repairing damaged infrastructure, and on Monday, the Minnesota delegation pressed the White House to approve that request.

Last week, Governor Dayton announced that damages to public infrastructure totaled over $108 million in 13 Minnesota counties and three tribal nations. Today's federal disaster declaration means that those counties and tribal nations are eligible to apply for funds to repair and replace their public infrastructure. Those costs would be funded at a rate of 75 percent by the federal government.