Peterson reminds small businesses of SBA drought deadline

Apr 12, 2013


(WASHINGTON DC) – U.S. Rep. Collin Peterson is reminding small businesses, small agriculture cooperatives and private non-profit organizations that May 13 is the filing deadline for federal economic injury disaster loans that are available as a result of the drought that began on July 17, 2012.

This disaster declaration includes the following counties in the 7th District: Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Clearwater,  Cottonwood, Kittson, Lake of the Woods,  Lincoln, Lyon,  Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pipestone, Polk, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Roseau, and Wilkin.

Under this declaration, the SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program is available to eligible farm-related and nonfarm-related entities that suffered financial losses as a direct result of this disaster.  With the exception of aquaculture enterprises, SBA cannot provide disaster loans to agricultural producers, farmers, or ranchers.  Nurseries are eligible to apply for economic injury disaster loans for losses caused by drought conditions.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at  Disaster loan information and application forms may also be obtained by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an email to  Loan applications can be downloaded from the SBA’s website at Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155.